Things that caught my attention….


Pottery from Shilparamam
January 8, 2008, 1:10 pm
Filed under: Indian arts and crafts

I almost missed the Shilparamam arts and crafts festival this year (2007). Every year artisans from all over the country come to exhibit and sell their crafts. It is one of the exhibitions that I enjoy the most. I managed to go on the last day mainly because I really needed to get some serving bowls!! They were handpainted with designs that reminded me of Madhubani paintings… maybe they are. We had to leave in a hurry so I could not explore. Just went got the bowls and got back.

Read more about Shilparamam here.

Here’s what I came back with.

shilparamam.jpg

I plan to make matka kulfi or serve kheer in these some day…

shilparamam-2.jpg 

Teaset for my little daughter (dolly not included)

shilparamam-3.jpg

Ceramic pot now adds some color and green on my kitchen counter.

shilparamam-4.jpg

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Kavitha,
Thanks for dropping by at Rang Decor:-)
I’ve been to Shilparamam a couple of years back…hope it has gotten better:-)

I absolutely love Khurja pottery!

Arch

Hi Archana
Thank you for Rang decor. I absolutely enjoy all your blogs and pictures. Shilparamam has been better. This year they have considerably reduced the number of stalls 😦

Comment by Arch

Nice 🙂

Hi Sharanya.. thanks for visiting!

Comment by Sharanya

Amazing pottery, especially the “Matka”- good collection.

Thanks Deepika

Comment by Deepika

I liked the rangoli on pottery the art i appreciate very much i waana visit india to see silparamma again.

Comment by Lakshmitala




Leave a Reply

