Things that caught my attention….


Brass and some wood…
January 23, 2008, 12:54 pm
Filed under: Indian arts and crafts

Vishwakarma Art Gallery (Hyderabad)

I found this store today when window shopping in Panjagutta. They have a great collection of artefacts, brass figurines, bells, hanging lamps, mirrors… you name it. The prices were reasonable too I think. I hope to make another trip and will make sure I get some pictures of the store.

Here’s what I came back with:

Tibetan prayer bell, also called the Drilbu. It makes a very loud sound when rung which lasts a very long time.

Pair of small ganeshas. These were brass and I think this craft is called Dhokra.

Evolution – Contemporary Arts, Crafts and Textiles (Hyderabad)

This is one store that I pass by a lot. And everytime I pass by I tell myself “I should go to this store sometime”. And I’m glad that I did today. The store owner was not there and the salesperson wasnt sure if I could take pictures, but this is one place I am definitely visiting again and will definitely get some pictures then.

Here, one can find an eclectic mix of furniture, every piece unique and very Indian. Most of the furniture is made of sheesham wood and is from Rajasthan. There were some very nice chests, low seating chair sets, shelves and occasional tables. Crafts included handpainted wooden sculptures, handmade paper, scented candles, etc. Textile section had a colorful array of bedsheets, table covers and placemats.

Pricewise I would rate this store reasonable.

wooden wall hooks from Evolution. The tile is made of carved and handpainted wood.
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’ve never been to Hyderababd and your posts might change that 🙂 Looking forward to your pictures of ‘Evolution’

Hi Vineeta I hope you visit… I’m still trying to explore. Will try to post more pictures.

Comment by Vineeta




Leave a Reply

